SCULPTURE BY THE SEA

I finally managed to get down to Sculpture by the Sea on the weekend. Ever since I moved to Sydney I have been meaning to check it out but I kept leaving it until the last minute and then for some reason I would never get there. I saw the sculpture park in Western Australia a couple of times, so I am happy I finally got to do the coastal walk on the opposite side of Australia! The walk between Bondi and Tamarama is pretty breathtaking already, the sculptures literally add another dimension. Sculpture by the Sea is on again in March 2013 at Cottesloe Beach in WA and also in June 2013 at Aarhus in Denmark.


Rachel Couper & Ivana Kuzmanovska – mirador


Steinunn Thórarinsdóttir (IS) – trace – sphere – gate

Cave Urban – mengenang (memory)

Jock Clutterbuck – waterlily 2009
Dave Mercer – view tm
Paul Kaptein – and in the endless pauses, there came a sound
Kate Stehr – the drogue
Gillie & Marc Schattner – the travellers have arrived

Alex Richie – kaleidoscope cube
Right: Ruth Downes & Geoff Webster – casting around
Karin van der Molen – surprise
Kristin McIver – view piece

97 thoughts on “SCULPTURE BY THE SEA

  1. This is the first ever blog I have read believe it or not.. Never known what blogs do.. But quite intrigued by the photos and have had a look at your portfolio. I wouldn’t rule out ideas or brand design ideas from you. I think ‘picturette’ logo is very elegant.

    • Unfortunately it finished a couple of weeks ago in Sydney :( it never seems to go for long enough, I always remember it at the last minute and it’s a mad rush with the crowds to see it!

  2. Great photos. Sculpture By The Sea is another reason to love my city, the art and culture in Sydney are so good. This year I had to miss it as I was recovering from a hip replacement but i have enjoyed it several times.

  3. Wow.. each picture better than the other.. stunning images of such beautiful, artful creations. Lovely post and well deserving of being FP!!

  4. Hello! I have missed going to the Sculptures for the last two years for various reasons…. I MUST plan better next year. Bondi to Tamarama, or even all the way to Coogee is THE best!

    Lovely photos. Thanks for sharing, and Congratulations on being Freshly Pessed

  5. As an appreciator of photography, i love your work here. You are welcome to Ghana also anytime you want to for such projects. I also have a blog and hope you check mine out : qwophicedi.wordpress.com

  6. Pingback: SCULPTURE BY THE SEA | eyes open & bootUp

  7. The sculptures are as breathtaking as the scenery! I’ve always wanted to go to Australia (even though almost everything is poisonous, and The Outback is quite dangerous… or so I’ve been told).
    I especially like “View tm”. It looks so bold and surreal, almost as if it had been added to the picture!

  8. Pingback: SCULPTURES BY THE SEA | lif3iswonderful

  9. Pingback: An overview of awesome photo blogs - High School Fashion Experience | High School Fashion Experience

  10. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from. I appreciate you for posting when you’ve got
    the opportunity, Guess I’ll just book mark this site.

Leave a Reply

